Jump to Navigation

Traffic Ticket Points

Got A Ticket? DON'T JUST PAY IT! Call us Today ... We Can Help

Few people (besides attorneys) know that North Carolina has two "point systems" when it comes to traffic tickets. The first system is enforced by the North Carolina DOT (Department of Transportation). The second is the insurance point system created by the Safe Driver Incentive Plan (SDIP).

A traffic citation, such as a speeding ticket, may add points to your driving record and your SDIP record. Too many points can lead to the suspension of your driver's license. ANY points may increase your insurance premiums. It is possible, depending on the nature of your traffic violation, to have the violation reduced to a lesser offense and avoiding the higher points, or to even have the violation dismissed altogether.

Every ticket is serious and can affect your insurance rates for years. Contact the Winston-Salem law office of Hartsoe & Associates, P.C. for help.

POINTS ASSESSED ON YOUR LICENSE BY THE NC DOT

Point Value

Conviction

5

Passing a stopped school bus loading or unloading children

5

Aggressive driving

4

Reckless Driving

4

Hit & Run-property damage only

4

Following too closely

4

Driving on wrong side of road

4

Illegal passing

4

Failure to yield right-of-way to pedestrian

3

Running through stop sign

3

Speeding more than 55 mph

3

Speeding through school zone

3

Failure to yield right of way

3

No driver license or license expired more than one year

3

Running through red light

3

Failure to stop for siren

3

Speeding through safety zone

3

Failure to report accident where such report is required

3

No liability insurance

2

All other moving violations

1

Littering involving a motor vehicle

POINTS ASSESSED ON YOUR INSURANCE (SDIP)

Point Value

Conviction

12

Vehicular manslaughter (or negligent homicide)

12

Prearranged highway racing or aiding and abetting same

12

Hit & run driving resulting in bodily injury or death

12

Driving while impaired (DWI)

10

Highway racing or aiding and abetting same

10

Speeding to elude arrest

8

Driving while license revoked or Driving while vehicle registration revoked

4

High and run resulting in property damage

4

Reckless driving

4

Passing a stopped school bus

4

Speeding greater than 75 mph when posted limit is less than 70 mph

4

Speeding greater than 80 mph when posted limit is equal or greater than 70 mph

2

Illegal Passing

2

Speeding greater than 10 mph over limit and greater than 55 mph and less than 76 mph

2

Speeding equal to or less than 10 mph over limit in equal to or lesser than 55 mph zone

2

Following too closely

2

Driving on wrong side of the road

1

Speeding equal to or less than 10 mph over limit in less than 55 mph zone*

1

Any other moving violation (including exceeding safe speed, failure to yield to pedestrian, etc.)

*no points are assessed if driver has no other moving violation during the 3 year experience period

Non-Moving violations

No points shall be assessed for convictions of the following offenses:

  • Over loads, Over length, Over width, Over height
  • Illegal parking
  • Carrying concealed weapon
  • Improper plates or Improper registration
  • Improper muffler or equipment
  • Improper display of license plates or dealer's tags
  • Unlawful display of emblems and insignia
  • Failure to display current inspection certificate

COST OF INSURANCE POINTS

POINTS

12
11
10
9
8
7

RATE INCREASE

400%
350%
300%
260%
220%
180%

POINTS

6
5
4
3
2
1

RATE INCREASE

150%
120%
90%
65%
45%
25%

For a single car policy, the surcharge is levied on the total premium. For a multiple car policy, the surcharge is applied to the highest rated car and then allocated among all cars in the policy.

Points, once assigned, stay on a record for 3 years. They are assigned effective the date of conviction of a traffic offense or the date of an at-fault accident. The three-year experience period starts at the time of the next renewal of the policy or new purchase of insurance by the insured after the assignment of the points. If you purchase a one-year automobile policy on January 1, 2009, and are convicted of a 2-point violation on January 15, 2009, you won't see a premium increase until January 1, 2010, almost a year later, but your policy will be charged extra, not only for 2010, but for 2011 and 2012 as well.

Call for an immediate consultation: 1-888-725-1985

Contact Us Now for Immediate Help

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Free Consultations For Injury and IRS Matters Office Location:

Winston-Salem Office:
1068 W. Fourth St.
Winston-Salem, NC 27101

Greensboro Office:
324 S. Elm Street, Suite 300
Greensboro, NC 27401

Toll-Free: 336-701-6550
Office Phone: 336-701-6550
Fax: 877-726-1784

Nominee the 14th Annual Webby Awards

Business North Carolina's Legal Elite
Voted by NC attorneys as one of the Top 3% Family Law Attorneys in the State

Map Visit Us On Facebook